A Junior Barristers View – voting yes

A voice of the very junior Bar, who face the brunt of both Action and the implications ofDual Contracts

criminalbarassociation

Why I am in favour of direct action – a junior barrister’s perspective

I cannot speak for all junior criminal barristers. I speak as the most junior member of the crime team at my chambers.

My message is clear: I urge you to support direct action by barristers against the further cuts to solicitors’ legal aid fees.

I did not become a barrister for money or status. I believed, and still want to believe, the law can be used as a tool to bring about social change. To create a fairer society. To protect our most vulnerable members. To achieve that goal I believe access to justice for all is essential.

Like many of my peers, my journey to the Bar has been a struggle. I funded university and my masters through loans and part-time work. I funded a part-time BPTC through work and a scholarship. Throughout this period I…

View original post 252 more words

Leave a Reply

